Things I Love Thursday: An Introduction

I’m starting to become not just a compulsive list-maker, but an obsessive one.

I briefly touched on list-making in Tiny Quail and The Year of Power, but as February 11th (the date that I move out) rapidly approaches, what once was a minor quirk to help me stay organized and on-task is rapidly becoming a mania. Oops.

Luckily my passion for lists also doubles as a blogging tradition and content for Tiny Quails! I’ve been a follower of Gala Darling’s blog for many moons and always look forward to her uber-decadent, always-glittery Things I Love Thursday lists – which she shared some thoughts on last Thanksgiving:

My weekly TiLT lists serve a few purposes. Firstly, it gets me to focus on the positive, & not just in some abstract way: it forces me to really sit down, assess my life, & shine a light on the best parts of it. Secondly, it serves as a kind of “happy diary”, a way of chronicling & remembering my life — which I need, because my memory is not what it used to be!

I’m sure that to some people, my writing of a public gratitude list is weird & incomprehensible. I don’t write this to boast; instead, I write it to hopefully persuade you to do the same. When I commit myself to doing this every week, out loud & in public, maybe that will inspire you to commit in a similar way.

In this spirit, and holding myself to my promise of keeping a gratitude list, Things I Love Thursday is going to be a regular, weekly feature on the Tiny Quail blog. There may not be a ton of designer shoes or glittery manicures in my life (yet!) but there’s a lot of really rad things I need to remember to be grateful for – material or otherwise. So without further ado, here’s what I’ve been digging in the past week:

This song by The Changelings – the accompanying personal video of someone’s train journey through Japanese neighborhoods is interesting, too! ♥ L’Oreal’s BB Cream, which I can’t stop raving about (my skin looks dewy! and fresh! and my zombieesque undereye circles are gone!) ♥ Great, friendly, fast experiences at the DMV  ♥ Knitting for charity is a thing. I’m bringing my scrap yarn with me on my flight out so I can start churning out some squares! ♥ Harney & Son’s Paris tea – so yummy! ♥ Chaucer Doth Tweet (“Illuminate me lyke one of yower Frankish miscellanies”!) ♥ Vaccuum bags. Don’t laugh, they’re badass and the only way I could fit a mountain of linens in my suitcase ♥ Sock Dreams’ Stained Glass leggings. Ooh yes, come to mama. ♥

That’s all for this week. Keep on keepin’ on, lovelies!

Leave a Reply

