Things I love Thursday: Greetings from the Magic Kingdom!

Happy Thursday! Since last we spoke I’ve played Juggle-My-Belongings-From-Suitcase-To-Suitcase, had all of my travel plans go pear-shaped not even an hour after bidding my family farewell, and managed to get myself and my 120 pounds of luggage to Florida in one piece on only about ten minutes of sleep. I’ve also gained some pretty amazing roommates and neighbors, realized how hard grocery shopping is when you’re just starting out, and just finished one of the orientations for working at at the Disney company this afternoon.

In short, it’s been a crazy roller coaster of my week, all crazy highs and lows. I thought the first week was going to be the most miserable – and while I did have some apprehension on the first night (due in no small part to said ten minutes of sleep) and a little bit of homesickness, the adjustment is better than I ever imagined it could be.

Some highlights…

Having a beautiful goodbye dinner with my family in San Francisco, overlooking the Golden Gate. ♥ Being handed my apartment key and my job assignment in one fell swoop ♥ Living upstairs from the apartment complex service center (free cookies, but even better, free apples!) ♥ Singing the Can’t Hug Every Cat song with my new friend Jo while grocery shopping ♥ Arizona diet blueberry green tea ♥ Disney Traditions, the aforementioned orientation for working here through the College Program ♥ Mickey Mouse coming into our Traditions classroom! ♥ Getting to take a quick walk through the Magic Kingdom and passing a special Valentine’s Day show with the Disney Princesses! It took everything in me to keep from crying as we approached Cinderella’s castle. ♥ Naps. Ooh yes naps are wonderful, and sadly underappreciated until you really need one.

Despite all this excitement, I know I’m in for a lot of hard work and long days. But you know what? That’s okay. I feel like I’ve taken more steps and made more progress in the past few days than I have in the past few months, and it’s a good feeling. It’s a scary feeling, as I’ve previously mentioned, but still really good.

There’s a lot in store for us tonight (Valentine’s day party, and who can say no to free food when they’re on a budget?) and for me tomorrow (another day beginning at 5 and going until 5 in the evening, lucky me!), so I’m going to wrap up this week’s TiLT so I can take a quick rest. Keep on keepin’ on!

Leave a Reply

