Feel A Little Better: 5 Things You Can Do in 5 Minutes

  1. Drink Up!
    You may not realize it, but chances are you are dehydrated – especially if you regularly consume coffee or caffeinated sodas. When I was younger I had frequent problems with dehydrating, and suffered symptoms such as dizziness, elevated heartbeat, and heart palpitations – all alleviated by drinking water and the occasional diluted sports drink! Even now I tend to forget to drink water and am amazed at how much better I feel immediately after having some. It’s like I can feel every cell in my body expanding with hydration and breathing a little sigh of relief. If you don’t like plain water (or you’re in an area where the tap water is gross….thanks Orlando!) try making some infused waters
  2. Tune out the external noise.
    Margaret Thatcher died today. Several of the more politically-minded people I follow on tumblr had a lot to say about it. While browsing my mood got worse and worse – until I finally had to close the tab and switch my focus to something more positive. I myself don’t bear any strong feelings about Thatcher one way or another, but the influence of other peoples’ emotions is hard to ignore. Turn off the news, close the blog page, ignore the youtube comments. You’ll feel better.
  3. Listen to something bombastic.
    Music is an instant mood-lifter. What helps even more is listening to something (say, for instance, outrageously bombastic opera) and belting along whether you know the lyrics or not. Bonus points for gesturing along – just try not to do so while you’re driving.
  4. Reach Out
    It takes less than a minute to compose a text message or make a phone call. Think about a friend that you haven’t talked to in a while, and let them know that they’re awesome – chances are, they think you’re pretty awesome too and even if it may take thme a little while to respond, they’ll be happy to talk to you. Everyone’s happy, and everyone wins!
  5. Try to ignore your ‘Wants’
    I don’t know if anyone else has this problem, but it seems like a constant running thought process in the back of my head is things that I want – at any time of day I’ll be daydreaming about a cute dress, a bottle of pastel nail polish I saw at the drug store, a book that I want to read, the camera that I want to document my College Program with, the study abroad program I’ve been dreaming about for three years…but what goes hand-in-hand with that is a mild stress about the money necessary to acquire all these things! I tense up thinking about that money without even realizing it. The List of Wants varies from person to person, but I’m positive we all have one – while it’s almost impossible to stop a track of thought once you start thinking about it, it is possible to put it in neutral. Take a breath. Look around you – what’s there? Be present and thankful for what you have now – a sense of gratitude for the present derails your train of thought from ‘wants’ to ‘haves’ – and feeling grateful for what you have, even if it’s just awareness and the ability to breathe, reduces some self-imposed stress.

Feeling better yet?

Leave a Reply

