A Not-Quite Things I Love Thursday

This week, guys.

This friggin’ week.

If you’re a modern human with access to a computer, TV, or cell phone, chances are you know just what an awful week this has been.

It is so, so very hard to be swamped down by all of the horrible news. Staying immune from the bad news, from the graphic photos, from the witch hunts and suffering is easier said than done. It’s one thing to close out of the tab, to ignore the comments, to take a break from facebook and turn off the TV, but it’s another thing entirely to not be haunted by the thoughts of the victims and their families.

Humans are meant to be empathetic and to understand one another’s suffering. Our empathy  is perhaps the one factor that makes us all the same. Perhaps it’s the defining mark of a human being? I can’t say for certain. All I know is that thinking of the widespread suffering this week is making it very hard to keep my chin up – especially as I’m going into work.

I work at what’s called “The Happiest Place on Earth.” Yet, in the face of all of this suffering and hurt, it’s hard to focus on my job when I know there’s so much more going on in the world outside. Thinking about all of this last night, I realized that we can’t afford to get sucked into negativity and despair, especially not when we’re making magic – making people happy.

I realized that my efforts at work directly contribute to making people happy during this terrible week, and we need a little bit more of that. I’m going to work as hard as I can, not just for pay or to make rent, but to make people happy during their stay here in Orlando. We all need a little bit more of that. I may not be able to do much.

So the one thing this week that I love above all others is this: That we are all human, and our capacity for kindness, warmth, tenderness is greater than our capacity for violence and hatred. People around the country, in Boston and Texas, and around the world are coming together and rising above, persevering in the face of tragedy through love and empathy.
As I posted on facebook and twitter earlier this week, There are more kind, loving, generous, and good-natured people in the world than there are little-minded mean spirits. This sustains me.

It’s something I love.

Leave a Reply

