Things I Love Thursday: The Gratitude List Strikes Back

Hold on to your trousers, this TILT comes with a story attached!

After struggling with some generally unhappy feelings for the past few weeks, I couldn’t wait to start one of my classes through the Disney education program just to give my brain something to much on. The Marketing You class functions on the premise of “know theyself so you can market thyself.” I’ve always been under the impression that business, networking, marketing…it’s just not for me (see also: too corporate!) It has always read as false, soulless, and boring to me, and you know I am all about the soul.
Class started last week and I’m happy to say it’s has proven me wrong! The first session was delightful. The coach is inspirational and oh-so-sassy, and is all about giving people the tools they need so they can discover what they want out of life and how to get it with their own unique talents and personalities. Maybe there is room for soul in business after all…

Either way, in last week’s class the coach brought out a basket, filled with cards, a few stuffed animals, and letters. All were from her former students. She referred to it as her “Doctor Feelgood” account, and explained that it’s a tangible thing to look at whenever she’s feeling down, stressed, or frustrated. It functions sort of like a bank account that you can never overdraft from: Just keep making deposits that are “feelgood” and withdrawing them
“Huh,” I thought. “Sounds sort of like a gratitude list!”

And then I thought about my poor abandoned tiny blog – how my lack of keeping up a gratitude list perhaps coincides with my negative feelings lately. So it’s time to make my Feelgood account active again! Here goes….

Gluten-free French toast cupcakes (even better, affordable gluten-free French toast cupcakes!) ♥ Drinking tea and watching Florida’s insane daily thunderstorms – no sound but the heavy raindrops and the occasional crack of thunder ♥ My awesome roommate handing me a huge bar of dark chocolate for absolutely no reason ♥ Guests going out of their way to say they appreciate all your hard work after a difficult shift ♥ Hay House radio ♥ Journaling like a madwoman, writing so fast I splatter ink all over the page. ♥  8hacks, oh how I love thee ♥ Geeking out about homesteading ♥ All of the movies I’ve been seeing lately – I’ll write a separate post about that later! ♥ Doing homework. Amazingly, I’ve missed it! ♥ This post by Gala Darling, which sums up all my thoughts on magic, intentions, and how the Universe aligns  ♥ Thoughts and phrases coming out of nowhere while writing – total, organic creativity ♥ Making total strangers laugh at geeky references ♥ Handspun alpaca wool ♥ Signs, symbols, and portents ♥ Magnolias blooming everywhere ♥

In the meantime, what have you been putting on your gratitude lists or Feelgood accounts? Drop me a line or leave a comment!

Until next we meet!

One thought on “Things I Love Thursday: The Gratitude List Strikes Back

  1. Pingback: Dr. Feelgood: Or, How I Learned To Stop Worrying and Love the Gratitude List | Tiny Quails

Leave a Reply

